Happy Birthday(s)!

Today, along with my brother, is my coteacher, Morgan’s, birthday! For my birthday she made me some sick ladybug cupcakes so I could only return the favor for hers.

A couple firsts here: 1. 1st dive into vegan baking and 2. 1st attempt at drawing on a cake AND 3. 1st baked good made from scratch. No box!

It’s chocolate cake with vanilla frosting. Seahorses are her favorite as is the color orange.

I’m pretty proud of myself despite the difficulty of slippery, oily, vegan frosting. I found that once on the cake though it was easier to manipulate and poke around. It’s much like a gel. But I’ve always been timid about drawing on cakes because I’ve always envisioned myself ruining the design and having to mix all the colors together to end up with a brown frosted cake. BUT that didn’t happen!

I like the recipes a lot. Simple and delicious.

Happy Birthday Morgan and Paul!

June 21, 2010. Tags: . Baking.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

